Skip to content

Can Twitter Solve my Flight Problems?

January 14, 2011

Twitter

I read yesterday’s On Location Travel blog where Annie Rooney writes about her experience working with Delta  to change her clients’ flights during the recent snow storms.  Telephone lines were busy and she was directed to Twitter to get quicker assistance.  My first reaction was doubt.  Tweeting flight problems seemed to me about as useful as throwing a penny in a fountain and making a wish for a new flight.

But I was curious, so I gave it a try and sent a question on how to change flights to @Delta Assist on Twitter.  Within one minute, @DeltaAssist was following me and within three minutes I had a response asking me direct message my flight confirmation number.  As long there were no change fees or fare differences, they could change my ticket via Twitter.  Uh, maybe this was a little more useful than a penny for a wish.

I did a little research, and it turns out Delta has been using Twitter to resolve customer issues for some time.  The @Delta Assist is run by customer service representatives around the clock who use Twitter direct message functionality to get customer itinerary information and swap tickets.

I haven’t personally used them yet to change tickets, but I am eager to give it a try.  Does anyone have any experience with Twitter and travel customer service?  If so, let us know!

Jennifer Grinold
Travel Agent, Grin Travel
www.grintravel.com

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 15, 2011 12:07 am

    Seems like you got a lot of good information, still makes me feel a little iffy. Annie Rooney

Leave a Reply

